Providing hints to autotagger

Hi there. I’m just getting started with beets, and I’m trying to figure out how to improve autotagger matching.

I’m importing an Album from this release group. The specific release is here.

The first suggestion beets gives me is a vinyl from the year 1978, whereas this is a CD from 2010. Since the FLAC files don’t have any of this metadata embedded yet, I suppose this is reasonable as beets doesn’t have much to work with.

Even if I hit M to show more matches, beets only shows another 5 albums out of the 43 from that group, and none of the 5 are the exact one I’m looking for (side questions: how does it choose these 5? why not show all 43?).

Is it possible to give hints to beets so that it has more information to improve the matches? Being able to provide the year or catalog number in this case would both immediately reduce to one possibility since these are unique among others in the group. I experimented with the --set flag on import (e.g., --set year=2010 or --set catalognum="AFZ 095"), but this had no effect.

Edit: Also, I’m aware that you can specify the specific MusicBrainz ID, but that takes more effort as it requires looking up the release on MusicBrainz first. I have all of the other information on-hand already, and would love to be able to automate these hints in my import scripts with no user intervention required.

It needs to choose a limit so it doesn’t spend an infinite amount of time downloading metadata from MusicBrainz.

One thing you might consider trying is importing with the hints (either with --set or after the fact with the beet modify command) and then re-importing the same album again, once you have put more contextual information in place.