Separating same album with different codec/bitdepth/bitrate

Let me first apologize because I’m a total newbie with Beets and still discovering all it’s possibilities. And my first impressions are that they are vast and incredible. Really hyped about it. So thanks a lot for developing Beets!

I’m trying to find out how I could work with multiple versions of the same album with different codec/bitdepth/bitrates.

Let me take my Paul Simon folder as an example. With the default Config file I get the results on the right of the screenshot. I chose of course to ‘Keep’ versions and I’m trying to find out a solution to do this more precise.
(Question continues below screenshot)

Let me start with the more easy part I guess.
For the album ‘Stranger to Stranger’ I have multiple versions:

• FLAC 16/44
  • FLAC 24/96
  • MP3 320

Is there a way to keep those specific codec/bitdepth/bitrate versions in their own respective folder with a visual clue as to which codec/bitdepth/bitrate version it is whilst auto-tagging them with Beets and copying them to a new music directory? Currently I’ve used ‘Keep’ but then the [xx] gets added because it’s essentially the same album. How do others do this?

Another more challenging question I guess is how you go about ‘remastered’ version, deluxe versions with bonus tracks etc, combined with the codec/bitdepth/bitrate challenge mentioned earlier.

• Which plugin (if any) would be able to differentiate between a regular and remastered release?
  • Is there a way to add those special release information like (remastered and bonus) to the name of the album folder? And how?

The essence is that I would like to be able to keep different versions and being able to differentiate visually between these versions while having Beets also tag and rename files properly where necessary.

I do realize that adding extra information to Album titles doesn’t really please the eyes so I’m also welcoming suggestion how to go about this in different ways.