Beetle : a web interface for beets

Hello everyone,

I recently create a web interface for beets called Beetle. It is based on top of the beet web API and has the following features:

• list of albums and artists
  • infos of albums and lyrics of tracks
  • text-based search
  • playing and playlist support

I have made a demo video, where you can see the design of the beast:

Source: La Bécasse / beetle · GitLab

9 Likes

Wow! This looks seriously awesome!

1 Like

Welcome @labecasse!
What a brilliant design. Functional, timeless and clear. I like it a lot. Am going to install it and play with it.

Thanks for all the work.

Jan

1 Like

Thanks ! I hope you will enjoy it. Tell me if you have any difficulty to use it :wink:

@labecasse I’m running into some challenges. Things that I can’t get to work. Might be because of the fact that I’m not a developer.

The whole cloning went well. I then installed node.js and npm with the macOS installer.

I got a message that flask-cors was not available on my system so I installed that too.
I added the info to my Beets config.yaml.

But when I entered
npm run build
I got the following error message:
npm ERR! missing script: build

With the other command
npm run dev
I got the message:
npm ERR! missing script: dev

Searching on the internet pointed me to that I had to add information to the package.json but there was already a lot of data entered. So before I mess things up…
Do you have an idea how to get this running?

I also didn’t understand what was ment by
Also copy the content of ~.env.source~ into ~.env~ and edit it, if you need.
And how to do that.

Sorry for these Beetle noob questions.
And thanks for your help!

Best, Jan

Hello @janpeeters, I am glad you are giving a try :grinning: