Understanding Singletons behavior

I am fairly new to Beets and just blown away at its capabilities. The level and quality of documentation alone is amazing, but I do still have questions.

I have been slowly going through my collection and cleaning things up. I first focused on full albums and learned a lot through that process and I am very happy with the results. Now I am turning my attention to partial albums and singles.

I was unsure of what my workflow would be for taking this on so I did a backup of the files and then a quick test. I took some counts of the numbers of files for reference so that I could validate what I believed would happen. My belief was that by turning on the Singleton option, I would have imported files going into the directory set up for “non-albums” and the album side would be unaltered.

I picked one artist that had a couple dozen files that comprised parts of several albums - none of which were complete. When I ran the import, it appeared to work correctly. Each track was evaluated individually and I saw that they were moved to the non-album folder with the correct naming convention. Before I cranked up the process, I went back and validated my counts.

Turns out that the total number of files in my complete albums directory went down. Investigating this, I found that a handful of tracks that were in the complete albums were pulled into the non-albums folder and correspondingly removed from the beets database as being part of the complete album. For example, a greatest hits album that was complete, now is missing one track and that track is in the non-albums folder.

This was unexpected (validates backups and testing). Any ideas about what I might be doing wrong or insight into where my understanding is flawed?

Thanks for your help in advance.

That’s a very interesting problem! Can you elaborate a bit on how your configuration is set up?