Thinking of building a tool with beets integration

Hello all! My real name is Nicholas and I am not a developer but I do come up with app ideas/concepts and hire out the dev work, usually on upwork.com, so apologies if I can’t get overly technical with such a clearly proficient community.

I have a decentralized music player called JAMS (which made me happy to see the word play of beets when I stumbled across it :smiley:) that was developed for the SAFE Network, not sure if anyone here has heard of it. Currently the network is in alpha stages and the app is in its early days. When a user uploads music, our metadata parser extracts the metadata but it’s become quite clear to me that music is generally not tagged well. Being that there is no music databases on the SAFE Network (yet) and making communications outside of the network would be insecure for the user, this will have to be a client side desktop application.

This tool would be powered by beets (and of course acknowledge that fact). I’m thinking there could be quite a nice UI/UX developed for selecting the import source, setting up a temp folder automatically, ticking some boxes for preselected plugins, etc. and then upload the content to the SAFE Network. I’m thinking it would also be nice have the option to save the changes to disk as well so this tool is useful to more than just JAMS users.

The tool would of course be separate to the player though would be dressed with some JAMS branding. It would be open source rven though the player isn’t (yet). What do you @adrian think of this? What does the community think? Just wanted to feel you guys out first, if this is something that would be welcome, if there are any issues to discuss, and if potentially anyone would want to collaborate?

Cheers everyone.

Sounds interesting! I’m not really familiar with SAFE, but I’d be interested to see how the project goes. IMO, more projects should be using beets as a library. :slight_smile:

1 Like