A wishlist

I am new to beets. I saw the tagline, “Beets is the media library management system for obsessive-compulsive music geeks.” I apparently am in the target market! I’m not ready to work hard on beets yet, but I expect to be later, once I am done with my first pass of ripping everything.

There is a thread Library maintenance with beets on the MusicBrainz community. I wrote up a wishlist of beets features there. I thought I’d cross-post it here. Maybe people will point to existing beets plugins which already do what I want. Maybe it will spark ideas in other people. I hope you find it interesting.

I have a collection of about 400 albums (mostly classical and opera, several with multiple CDs), ripped, and tagged with MusicBrainz IDs, in a 134GB directory tree on my file server. Right now I am still trying to work through my backlog of CDs to rip properly. For now, I only retag the ripped audio files when something is clearly wrong or changes. I retag using Picard, a subdirectory at a time, corresponding to an album or an album-artist.

I would like to use beets to manage the whole thing. I anticipate having to help write several plugins to make it work. Among them:

• A beets plugin to import a full-CD unitary FLAC file, and split it into per-track FLAC files according to a CUE sheet (I rip first to a unitary FLAC file for a CD archive)
  • A beets plugin to replicate the tagging which MusicBrainz Picard does for me now. And, it want it to do better; for instance, to reliably populate the Composer tag, and Artist tags for the various performers, in my audio files.