Lyrics not appearing in MediaMonkey (or not embedding at all?)

Hi all. I’m brand new to Beets, so forgive me if I’m overlooking something obvious.

Beets is successfully retrieving and printing lyrics from the command line. My understanding is that it should save them to the files’ tags. I assume that would mean the lyrics would show up when I pull them up through MediaMonkey, but that’s not happening.

Am I missing a step, or does “embedding lyrics into files’ metadata” mean something other than what I figured?

Here’s my config.yaml, if that helps:

directory: C:\Dropbox\MediaMonkey Library\Music
art_filename: albumart
plugins: bpd lyrics missing follow fetchart lastgenre
pluginpath: ~/beets/myplugins

original_date: yes

per_disc_numbering: no

ui:
    color: yes

import:
    copy: no
    write: yes
    log: beetslog.txt
    resume: yes
    bell: yes

paths:
    default: $albumartist/$year-$month-$day $album/$disc-$track $title
    singleton: Singletons/$artist - $title
    comp: $albumartist/$year-$month-$day $album/$disc-$track $title/
    albumtype:soundtrack: $albumartist/$year-$month-$day $album/$disc-$track $title/

lyrics:
    auto: yes

Beets is successfully retrieving and printing lyrics from the command line.

Not sure what you mean by this. What command do you run? beet lyrics mysong? This shouldn’t really output the lyrics.

My understanding is that it should save them to the files’ tags.

Correct.

I assume that would mean the lyrics would show up when I pull them up through MediaMonkey,

Provided that MediaMonkey can read the lyrics tag,

but that’s not happening.

Check if the lyrics are at all embedded by doing beet info -s mysong. If they are, the issue is on the MediaMonkey side.

When I talk about printing lyrics, I’m talking about using the -p option.

So when I run beet lyrics -p sturgill clockmaker, it returns the lyrics, but they don’t show up in MediaMonkey.

When I use the info plugin, though, I don’t see any lyrics there, either: