Any suggestions for improving import/update throughput?

Hi,

I am new to beets. I have been using Picard for many years and all my files are properly tagged, using MB IDs as much as possible (I’ve also been adding lots of albums to MB whenever not available). I was interested in some extra functionalities that beets can offer (advanced database queries, mass tagging and also thinking of using some plugins like the LastImport to bring my 15 years of listening history into my own database). So at this stage, I am not doing any tagging in beets, but wanted to import my library accessible over a network share.

However, my library is fairly large (over 350K tracks) and I have found that the beets import was rather slow. It started well in the beginning but as the DB size grew I started getting more than 5 seconds in between albums, which would have meant about 2 days for the full import to complete.
After a bit of investigation I found that the import was CPU bound (it was using a full CPU core on the computer running the import) at it was actually spending time full scanning the ever growing ITEMS table which kept on slowing it down. I also found out that creating an index on PATHS would actually help a lot in my case, e.g.:

CREATE INDEX items_path_idx on items(path);

This helped increase the throughput of the import from 1 album every 5 seconds to about 3 albums per second on average, so the import would complete in less than 4 hours.

This is not bad for an initial import, but every time I rerun the import after adding more files to the library, it takes about the same time and an update takes about 6 hours…
So if I have to run update + import every time I update existing files and add new ones (about once a week) then it’s a total of 10 hours, which is a bit of a show stopper for me.