Making song matching more robust

Hey everyone,
Like many of you, I’ve had my music for decades now, and my playlists also. A few years ago I uploaded my favorite songs from my Favorites playlist to Google Music, and now I want to migrate back to local again. I have locally all the songs that are on Google Music, but the latter won’t export the playlist at all, and I don’t want to go looking for all the songs one by one, so I figured beets can help with this.

I managed to export a list of Artist - Title from Google Music, and I figure I can write a plugin to query beets’ database for the name and show me a few file paths so I can pick. That should be easily doable, yes? (I’m a professional Python developer, so I’m handy with Python).

Secondly, I wrote a new playlist spec, which I call Universal Playlist, because of exactly this problem. This playlist format includes MusicBrainz IDs, hashes, etc as well as artist name and title. I have written a small utility to convert from PLS to UPL, but the opposite is harder, because I need a database that’s indexed by both the metadata that already exists in ID3 tags and things like the SHA/MD5 hash of the song, etc.

My second question is: Does beets allow arbitrary, indexable metadata into its database? I would like to write a plugin that would, on song import, read all the metadata and add the MBID, SHA/MD5/etc hash to the database, so I could quickly get a song by its SHA hash later on. Is this possible without changing the beets core?

Thanks!

Interesting problem!

Yes, the plugin you describes shouldn’t be too hard (I think). It’s pretty straightforward to construct queries of the kind you’re describing. Take a look at the dbcore.query module for the options; it’s as easy as something like AndQuery([MatchQuery('artist', artist'), MatchQuery('title', title)]).